Next-gen countdown starts now.

Nintendo will finally announce its global launch plans for Wii U’s holiday release. We’ve known for a while it’s due out, as said, this holiday season in major territories. But we’ve never gotten anything more specific.

That changes today.

Beginning at 8:00am BST today, Nintendo president Satoru Iwata will host the first of two Nintendo Direct broadcasts from Japan. It’s there that details on the system’s Japanese launch will be announced. Date, price and info are all expected.

Now here comes the tricky part. At 3pm BST, Nintendo of America will be hosting a live press conference hosted by NoA president Reggie Fils-Aime in New York that’ll detail the US launch plan. Simultaneously at 3pm BST, Nintendo of Europe will be hosting a local version of Nintendo Direct, presented by NoE president Satoru Shibata, where EU launch deeds will be announced.

And here’s the kicker in all this. As both the US press event and EU Direct kick off, a second Nintendo Direct from Japan will also start at 3pm BST with Iwata back on hosting duties, this time detailing the first and third-party lineups for the system.

I’ve broken it down for you in this bulletpoint list with added local times for each event.

  • 8:00am BST/4:00pm JPST [9:00am CET/3:00am EST/12:00am PST] – Nintendo Direct Japan, no 1, hosted by Nintendo President Satoru Iwata [JP launch details]

Then, at 3:00pm BST/4:00pm CET/10:00am EST/7:00am PST/11:00pm JPST, it properly kicks off.

Got that? Phew.

I’m gonna be liveblogging all four events (at least, that’s the hope :S). I’ll begin proceedings half an hour before the first Nintendo Direct stream begins, so that’s at 7:30am BST (8:30am CET/2:30am EST/11:30pm PST).

Because WordPress (or at least my version of WordPress) won’t allow the CoverItLive window to be embedded directly on the page, you’re gonna have to click the link below. Sorry. But it’s better than having to tweet out a link that I had to pull from the embed code constantly.

LIVE: Nintendo Wii U Info Drop

Advertisements